I’ve never been a fan of following patterns.  I was taught to knit by my grandmother and aunt, without help from any knitting books.  My aunt and grandmother are more free form knitters: they create their own patterns and just go with them.  So needless to say when my best friend [a non-knitter] bought me my first knitting book freshman year of high school, I was a bit wary.  I had skimmed knitting books before and wasn’t impressed. The wording seemed so complex and I couldn’t begin to decipher all the abbreviations [despite the glossaries located in each one].

But all that changed when I started reading “Stitch ‘n Bitch” by Debbie Stoller. “Stich ‘n Bitch” isn’t a traditional knitting book.  It explains knitting terms in plain English and provides easy explanations for intimidating techniques. “Stitch ‘n Bitch” became my knitting bible after that.  It helped me to branch out from scarves and into hats.  It even encouraged me to try lace.

Since my introduction to “Stitch ‘n Bitch,” I’ve been able to give other knitting books a chance.  “Stitch ‘n Bitch got me over my fear of patterns and helped me to realize just how awesome traditional knitting techniques can be.

A link to a summary of “Stitch ‘n Bitch”: http://www.knithappens.com/content/view/13/31/

